Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Congratulations MERHS Award Winners!

Scholastic Art and Writing Awards

In 2018, students across the country submitted nearly 350,000 works of art and writing to the Scholastic Awards.  Submissions are juried by luminaries in the visual and literary arts, some of whom are past award recipients. Panelists look for works that best exemplify originality, technical skill, and the emergence of a personal voice or vision.
Gold Key works from the state level are judged nationally by an impressive panel of creative–industry experts to receive National Medals, including Gold, Silver, American Visions & Voices, Portfolio Silver with Distinction or Portfolio Gold Medals and Special Achievement Awards.  (https://www.artandwriting.org/)
Manchester Essex Regional High School is pleased to announce three nationally recognized students:
Natascha Braase               Untitled                 Silver Medal          Photography
Thymen DeWidt                Hyper Flexible      Silver Medal         Photography
Rebecca Braimon             Kolibel’naya          Silver Medal         Flash Fiction

Additionally, Bridget Twombly recently won 3rd place for one of her photographs at the annual Endicott College High School Art competition. Nell McKeon also won an award. It was juried by Lydia Gordon, Assistant Curator for Exhibitions and Research, Peabody Essex Museum. Over 100 students' works were considered for the competition and all are on display at the Manninen Center for the Arts on the Endicott campus until March 28th.

DECA Award Winners

Your 2018 MERHS DECA team has completed their state competition with fantastic results.

First Place Winners
Anton Kozyrev
Micaela Coonley
Laura Hannafin
William Smith

Second Place Winners
Christina Bullock
Charlotte Pick
Caroline Harrington

Third Place Winners
Jacob D'ambrosio
Hannah Oettinger
Faithe Shatford
(The ten students listed above qualify for the International Competition in Atlanta)

20 students made Top Ten Finalists
Liam Kelley, Zackery Mcpherson, Evan Fitzgerald, Dylan Wilson, Anton Kozyrev, Christina Bullock, Charlotte Pick, Tucker Jaworski, Micaela Coonley, Laura Hannafin, Maxine Hickey, Annika Smith, Isabel Del Valle, Alexi Woodward, Caroline Harrington, Tucker Hoff, William Smith, Jacob D'ambrosio, Hannah Oettinger, Faithe Shatford

Medal Winners

1st Place Role Play
Anton Kozyrev
Christina Bullock Charlotte Pick
Ben Flood
Tucker Hoff

2nd Place Role Play
Anton Kozyrev
Christina Bullock Charlotte Pick

3rd Place Role Play
Caroline Harrington
William Smith

1st Place Written Exam
Micaela Coonley, Laura Hannafin

Authentic Science Research

Congratulations to seniors Belle Allmendinger, Michael Conlon, Coleman Komishane and Anika Martz for being selected to present their science research at the Southern New England Junior Science and Humanities Symposia at Boston University on Thursday.  An extra congratulations to Anika Martz for placing third in the poster competition for her research, “Cross Talk Between the Intestine and Thymus in Dendra Mice.”  Anika completed her research at the Massachusetts General Hospital Immunology Department for six weeks during the summer of 2017. 

Journalism Awards

On March 16th the journalism class received a First Place in Excellence in Sports Writing and an Honorable Mention (second runner-up) in Excellence in News Writing from the Suffolk University Greater Boston High School Newspaper contest. Thirty Boston-area schools competed.

Journalism staff honored include the following students:

Sophia Larson                            
Shannon Adam        
Julia Kaper                 
Charlotte Pick                                            
Sofia Gillespie                           
Mia Cromwell           
Paige Swanson         
Hannah Freeman    
Anton Kozyrev         
Emily Clark
Abigail Fitzgibbon
Juliette Kelley
James Riordan
Sirine Benali
Holly Fossa
Heather Holley
Austin Pare